Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 10-31-06, 01:20 AM   #1
Fishin49er
BassFishin.Com Member

Default Spinnerbaits

In a recent outting i caught my first fish on a spinnerbait and thats all i had luck on all day, now im hooked. I really liked that type of fishing. Ive been doing some research but wanted yalls input. When do yall use a trailer or do you? When do yall use a trailer hook or do you? What is your favorite color skirts for dirty water and for clear water? Any input would be appreciated, since im new to spinnerbaiting.
Fishin49er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-06, 01:42 AM   #2
Jolly
BassFishin.Com Active Member

When I do fish them, I always fish them with a trailer and a trailer hook. Trailer hook, as far as I can tell, doesn't hurt, and helps you catch those less aggressive fish that just slap at it or miss it. Doesn't affect action or production as far as I can tell. Nothing huge for a trailer, usually a 3" ring tail grub or the bottom half of a brush hog or craw bait or pork. Normally it matches or is the same color as the spinnerbait skirt. I usually don't spend much money on spinnerbaits (< $2 or $3) because I end up tossen em in a tree anyway. But I'm sure your aware you can spend $6 or more on them. My advise, stick with the cheapo steel (not titanium), I've personally never seen the advantage.

Color and blade choice is more to do with water clarity and bait in your lake. For example, the lake I fish has lots of shad and is very clear so therefore, I fish a 3/8 - 1/2 oz white/black with a single or double willow leaf. If we go up the river to the muddy water I fish a 1/2 oz chartruse/yellow/orange with a single large gold colorado blade. Match the skirt color with the baitfish in your lake and your on your way.