Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 08-14-07, 11:22 PM   #1
keithdog
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Default Question about using braided lines.

This is my first year using braid line. So far I have tried three brands, and Power Pro is my line of choice for braid hands down. My question is this. So far I use it for applications such as working a toad in the slop. Spinnerbaits, a weedless spoon worked through pads, or any application which involves heavy cover or a faster worked lure in which the bass will usually strike out of reflex. Line visability isn't much of an issue in these situations. How well will braid work when using a senko style bait, a jig, or texas rigged worm where you use a slow speed action retrieve? Is the line visabilty an issue using braid for these applications? Or is a mono or flourocarbon leader a must with braid in using slow action lures?
keithdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-07, 11:46 PM   #2
texasbasser
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Send a message via Yahoo to texasbasser

When I do use braid, not very often, but fishing a worm or other slow moving bait Ill use a flouro leader. Other baits, like spinnerbaits, I will NOT use braid for, as it has no stretch and will most likely rip the lure out of the basses mouth. Frogs or any other fastmoving topwater, I will use braid as it does not sink like mono and gives a good hookset ratio as compared to mono.
texasbasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-07, 07:38 AM   #3
FlyRod

I too use braid with a fluoro leader for slow presentations. I DO use it, sans leader, for spinnerbaits, avoiding the hazard mentioned in the above post by not using a hard hook set...never a problem. I use the same for buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzbaits, toads, frawgs, etc.