Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 12-02-08, 03:46 AM   #1
wareagledc
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Default p line

i just got a revo s and lined it with 15# pline cxx and this stuff is stiff as a board. i put all of the brakes on and adjusted the spool to where the lure(1/2 jig) just barely falls and it still makes a ugly nest when i cast. i am not new to baitcasters but this is my first time using floro and so far i am not happy with it. do you think it just needs to be broke in or am i doing something wrong. also when reeling up the slack after moving my jig it doesn't go onto the spoll tight it loops up causing more problems. any ideals?
wareagledc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 05:20 AM   #2
pig n jig
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

1. Your line was twisted when spooling your reel up.tie a swiveled weight and an area big enough to let the line back off your reel and then reel it back on .The swivel will remove the majority of the twist.

2. P-Line XX is not a fluorocarbon line.Its is a copolymer line. CXX extra strong is some stiff line but with a little use , it became one of the better lines I have ever used.Xtra Strong is sort of an understatement, it's super strong string.
pig n jig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-08, 09:43 AM   #3
mont_lunker_hunter

Where did you get the line? Sometimes places like Wal-Mart will have 5 year old stuff on the shelf.
Old 12-02-08, 10:14 AM   #4
jmartin

I run 20 pound p-line in my casters and no trouble with birdnests unless I try to skip under a dock. LOL
Old 12-02-08, 11:53 AM   #5
Fish2win

I agree wareagle, Try Suffix. More limp, great knot strength and great tensil strength. Fish2win
Old 12-02-08, 03:48 PM   #6
Raul