Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Non-Fishing Related Talk
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 06-01-09, 07:12 PM   #1
MallenManson
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Send a message via Yahoo to MallenManson
Default Economy woes

How bad is everyone getting hurt?
So far I've been reasonably safe, although we haven't been allowed OT in over 3 years. Boss said today that we currently have 5 weeks of work left but we've got some bids out that we're hoping to get (I'm a roofer).
2 more construction companies are going belly up around here, Artec Interiors and Arms & Cole Mechanical.
Really makes you wonder when it's ever gonna turn around
Old 06-01-09, 07:42 PM   #2
MallenManson

No worries! I just found out I won the Irish Lottery!
Old 06-01-09, 07:56 PM   #3
Christopherkeene9
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Don't really understand it being all that bad. Keep going out to places on the weekends and they are all PACKED. Was at the French Quater in Charleston this past weekend and all the high end restaurants were full and the Club was full too!
Christopherkeene9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-09, 08:41 PM   #4
WTL

Its a regional crisis but it is being made into a universal one by the bailouts.

Most of the mortgage problems were linked to certain areas of Florida, Cali and Las Vegas and those sent shockwaves through financial sectors which caused the collapse of banks and has now in turn caused the motor giants to fall. The government in response has in turn put everyone on the hook through bailouts. The bailouts are paid for not through direct taxation but debt and the printing of money. When the dollar falls, it will be truly universal.
Old 06-01-09, 09:08 PM   #5
nofearengineer

Yeah...don't ya love how we paid all of that money to GM to keep them out of bankruptcy? Oh wait...they filed Chapter 11 today. Um, I want my share of the 80 billion back.