Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > General Bass Fishing Topics
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 12-05-07, 02:32 AM   #1
WallStreetAmigo
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Default Building a crankbait collection

I have limited experience with crankbaits as I don't own very many currently. Next year I want to develop my expertise with crankbaits and am looking to build a good collection over the winter. Other than spinnerbaits, I have not had much success with getting the reaction bites on faster moving lures.

I know everyone has their personal favourite cranks and I am looking more for opinions on how to choose appropriate sizes/styles/colors. I will try to provide some information on the waters I fish most of the time and will really appreciate any input on how to build a collection of appropriate crankbaits.

1) The lakes up here are ultra clear most of the time. I can almost always see to the bottom weed cover.
2) Most lakes are very shallow with lots of submerged weedbeds (maximum 9 or 10 feet deep with long flats). A few have deeper areas but less weedbeds with scattered lily pads.
3) The main forage is pumpkinseed sunfish, followed closely by pale yellow perch (fyi, the Rapala Bluegill pattern very closely resembles the sunfish around here, so those lures will definitely part of the equation - on the flip side, the Salmo Slider Real Perch color 004 looks more like the perch around here than the Rapala perch color).
4) The size of LM bass around here are up to 10 pounds with the average fish being 2-4 lbs.

Here are my questions:

1) How do I choose the appropriate size crankbait?
2) What color patterns would be good to have based on the above info?
3) I've seen a lot of translucent type cranks. When would these work better than opaque color schemes?