Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 09-08-07, 08:01 PM   #1
stylgeo
BassFishin.Com Member

Default No cover, where to fish?

Hey everyone!

I am new to bass-fishing and I don't know if this is a stupid question or not, but if you guys can't help me then who can?

Anyway, my problem is that I've been doing a lot of reading about the subject and everywhere says that I should fish where there is cover, like fallen trees, branches and where there is shade for the fish to cover. What if there isn't any cover? The problem is that the lake I fish is now about half its water capacity! We are going through the drought season now and the rainy season will begin late this month. The water from the lakes is used for the agriculture so the water level has fallen dramatically, like every year, about 5 meters from it's actual level. So, there is now basically nothing on the shore, no vegetation, no trees, just rocks and gravel. I've looked into some old folders and found a photo from last year when i was fishing for trout with a friend at that lake. As you can see the actual water level is visible from the tree line. Now the level is even lower so there is no cover at all! What's the best way to fish this lake?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	drought.JPG
Views:	538
Size:	90.6 KB
ID:	1783  
Old 09-08-07, 09:44 PM   #2
otto
BassFishin.Com Member

Cover isn't just trees, stumps, and weeds. It's also rocks, ledges, and drop-offs; whatever the fish will use to their advantage to ambush their prey.