Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Bass Boats, Trailers & Setups
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 11-19-09, 12:45 AM   #1
keithdog
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Default Depth finder info needed.

Believe it or not, I've been fishing without the aid of a depth finder for 28 years. It's just been me, the jon boat and old fashioned figurin it out. I'm tired of fishin "blind" so I plan on buying a depth finder this comming spring for my jon boat. Nothing fancy or expensive. My 12 ft jon boat is powered by an electric trolling motor so I'm not going to be jet setting around the lake. The last two depth finders I did have were the old flasher units. Needless to say, things have changed a lot since those days. I've been looking at several models from both Eagle and Hummingbird that sell for less than $230.00. The main question I have is this...what is the advantages of a color display over a monochrome display? What will color tell you that monochrome won't? Also, being I am going to be using the depthfinder on a jon boat, how would you best suggest mounting the transducer? Using a trolling motor bracket or a transom mount? Thanks for any suggestion you might have!
keithdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-09, 01:58 AM   #2
Bender
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

I am not sure the best way to mount it, for some reason I never considered a trolling motor mount on my little boat. I might just do that, good idea. Then you can take it out with the TM.
I think the color ones make it easier to see things like the hardness of the bottom. You can see where it changes from rock to sand/mud. Plus they are pretty easy to see, maybe easier in the sunlight. I think in that situation I would opt for a higher end monochrome one than a low end color one, but it would be a close call.
Bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-09, 07:57 AM   #3
keithdog