Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Additional Categories > Casual Fishing Discussions & Novice Questions
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 10-09-11, 09:37 PM   #1
Maniak
BassFishin.Com Member

Default ready to throw in the towel

im about ready to just give up and go back to live bait. ive been fishing the local lakes and have had horrible luck. the past 4 times i havnt caught a thing.. ive had more luck at the small golf course ponds.. i have used every type of lure and presentation. maybe i am just not fishing at the right lakes? i dont have a boat and i am stuck on the shore, i think thats one of the issues.

i know i am a beginner and i have a lot to learn but its extremely frustrating to spend all the money on artificial baits and not be able to catch anything with them. i need to fish with a pro or something so i can learn the right techniques. i tried drop shotting for the first time today but im not sure if im doing it right.

sorry, just needed to rant, im sure i am not the only one who goes though this
Old 10-09-11, 09:46 PM   #2
carolina-rig-01
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Sorry you are having a tough go at it. Hang in there it will get better as you begin to catch a few fish and start figuring out things. It might be money well spent to hire a guide on a local lake so that you can learn a few techniques and catch a few fish to get your confidence up.
Old 10-09-11, 09:47 PM   #3
Tavery5
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Listen dude, it happens, you have probably heard this before, but it is worth saying anyway, it's called fishing, not catching, when you put pressure on yourself to catch fish it can become allot more like work than fun. Try to enjoy your time outside, think about how nice it is not to be at work/school and doing something that allows you to take your mind off the troubles of the world.