Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > General Bass Fishing Topics
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 02-16-11, 08:47 PM   #1
walkeraviator
BassFishin.Com Super Veteran

Default Another reel maintenance question.

There you are.. you got the reel disassembled and clean. Now where do you place grease and where to you place oil, and how much of each?

Im a do it yourself kind a guy. No ultra sonic parts cleaners. is the ardent parts cleaner a good buy? i usually just use a toothbrush dry to get out the graphite lube and dirt. then a rag to remove the grease and regrease the big gears. but i am sure i can do more if i had some advise on how to start. what tools does a man need to completely disassemble one?
walkeraviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-11, 09:04 PM   #2
Ryne
BassFishin.Com Member

Im no expert. But i just take pictures as i take apart the reel. Then i fill up a bowl with hot water and put Simple Green in it. Then i place all the parts in the hot water and SG. I let that sit for 20 min or so and then brush and rinse all parts. For this i use a spaghetti strainer so i dont drop anything down the sink. Then i just apply a small amount of grease to all gears and apply a small amount of oil to all parts that have some sort of friction. Iv never had a problem doing it this way. I never knew where to put grease and oil. I asked someone and they told me,"anywhere theres teeth, put grease."
Ryne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-11, 09:25 PM   #3
Kicksomebass
BassFishin.Com Member

never done it myself.. but i would just say, if it moves, grease/oil it
Kicksomebass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-11, 09:56 PM   #4
Tavery5