Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 05-22-05, 12:22 AM   #1
BIGDOGINMS
BassFishin.Com Member

Send a message via ICQ to BIGDOGINMS
Default new to bass fishing...

Hello all. I'm new to the phenom of bass fishing. I've always fished trout, steelhead and salmon (being from seattle and all). I'm now stationed at FT Campbell, KY and have found the secret lake on post with monster bass. There are two "coves" and numerous trees jutting off the cliffs at the water level. I've heard the depth ranges from anywhere to 50-200 feet max. water temp is cool, clarity is clear, and the perch and bass mingle together all the time. My friend and I have had great luck (4-5 pounders and a ton of 1-3 pounders) with Rapala F-9s original floater. along the shore there are only four places to cast off of (we're only allowed to fish from shore). One is at the bottom of a cliff with a slight curve to it and an unkown depth. One is a cove where the "river" drains in to the lake. One is the entry road to the old quarry. And finally one is across from the entry road in a cove that is a half circle mess of fallen trees, concrete and everything else. depth is from 6-30(?) feet. My questions, after being specific as possible, is what kind of lures, live bait, or plastics would one use if limited to casting off of the shore only. All of the spots allow parrallel casting to both side out to about 30 feet, and of course out to the "middle" of the lake. Do I cast side to side? and if so, which lure do i use? if i cast out into the lake, what lure should i use there? Thanks for all of your help, I've already figured out what i was doing wrong with my CrawFish lures. Great site
BIGDOGINMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-05, 12:41 AM   #2
Rich
BassFishin.Com Member

Send a message via ICQ to Rich
Default Re: new to bass fishing...