Bass Fishing HomeBass Fishing Forums

Go Back   BassFishin.Com Forums > Serious Conversation Only > Techniques, Strategy & Presentations
FAQ Community Members List Today's Posts Search

Old 03-24-07, 06:41 PM   #1
keithdog
BassFishin.Com Premier Elite

Default Braided Line Question

I purchased some Stren braided line today to use on my Garcia 4601C4 casting reel. I've never used braided line before, but I am looking foreward to trying it out. My question is this. Can you use braided line on spinning reels? I was wondering if anyone here had tried that and how did it work out?

Last edited by keithdog; 03-24-07 at 06:52 PM.
keithdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-07, 06:51 PM   #2
zooker

i am NOT a fan of stren braid. been there done that not goin to do it again...braid will work on just about any reel. the thing ya have to get used to is the noise that it makes..
after a while of being used- 2-3 months or so- it will soften and make less noise..

i personally like calcutta ultra braid or ande braid-if ya can find it-.. the biggest mistake is folks belive that using braided line the knots last longer this is FALSE..the knots if fished in rocky, snaggy enviroments WILL break. on average i retie braid twice as much as mono..

zooker
Old 03-24-07, 06:53 PM   #3
keithdog

Are there any differrences in the types of knots one would use with braid compared to using mono?
Old 03-24-07, 07:19 PM   #4
Rebbasser

Keith-I use 30 lb Powerpro-diameter of 8 lb mono-on my shakey head rod and it handles pretty well on a spinning rod. I'd recommend a Palomar knot.
Old 03-24-07, 08:18 PM   #5
dodgeguy
BassFishin.Com Veteran Member

i always use a palomar and crazy glue it.i suggest sufix braid.in 20 lb test on spinning.
Old 03-24-07, 08:45 PM   #6
InEccess
BassFishin.Com Active Member

Send a message via ICQ to InEccess